Gwinnett County

Established in 1888, Gwinnett County was named for Button Gwinnett, signer of the Declaration of Independence and hugely active in early Georgia politics.  Gwinnett County was formed and named after Button was killed in a duel.


Some of the larger communities located here are Auburn, Buford, Duluth, Lawrenceville, Lilburn, Norcross, Snellville, Sugar Hill, and Suwanee.  Gwinnett County is located 30 miles northeast of Atlanta.  The county seat is in Lawrenceville.  The current population is 842,046 per 2010 census.  Gwinnett County is and remains one of the most dynamic regions in the South to live and work.