Bronx, New York

Bronx is an area always referred to as “The Bronx” and never simply “Bronx” (except by those who are not local to the area and by a great many new immigrants).

The Bronx, forty-two square miles of varied types of land, is also the only borough of New York City that is connected to the mainland of North America. All of the other 4 boroughs (Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island) are separated by water. It is also one of two boroughs whose name is also the county name. Queens is the other of the two. Manhattan is New York County, Brooklyn is Kings County and Staten Island is Richmond County.